MSU football season opener against New Mexico likely to be moved to a Thursday night

 

Mike Leach

Mike Leach Photo by: Mississippi State Athletics

 

Ben Portnoy

 

 

STARKVILLE -- Mike Leach's debut in the maroon and white may come sooner than originally planned.

 

According to a source within the Mississippi State Athletic program, there's a "90 percent" chance the Bulldogs' season opener against New Mexico will be moved from Saturday, Sept. 5 to Thursday, Sept. 3. An official announcement is expected in the near future.

 

247Sports' David Murray first reported the news.

 

 

MSU last opened the season on a Thursday night in 2011 against Memphis. The Bulldogs downed the Tigers 59-14 at the Liberty Bowl that day.

 

As for Leach, his lone Thursday night season opener came in a 30-6 win over Brigham Young in Provo, Utah during the 2012 campaign -- his inaugural year at Washington State.

 

MSU's full schedule -- including the potential shift of the New Mexico game -- will be as follows:

 

 

Thursday Sept. 3: vs. New Mexico

 

Saturday Sept. 12: at North Carolina State

 

Saturday Sept. 19: vs. Arkansas

 

Saturday Sept. 26: vs. Tulane

 

Saturday Oct. 3: vs. Texas A&M

 

Saturday Oct. 10: BYE WEEK

 

Saturday Oct. 17: at Alabama

 

Saturday Oct. 24: at LSU

 

Saturday Oct. 31: vs. Auburn

 

Saturday Nov. 7: vs. Missouri

 

Saturday Nov. 14: at Kentucky

 

Saturday Nov. 21: vs. Alabama A&M

 

Thursday Nov. 26: at Ole Miss

 

 

 

Ben Portnoy reports on Mississippi State sports for The Dispatch. Follow him on Twitter at @bportnoy15.

 

printer friendly version | back to top

 


 

OTHER STORIES OF INTEREST

 

Follow Us:

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

Follow Us via Email